Review: “The Adventure of Tintin 0: Tintin in the Land of the Soviets” by Hergé

Hello, everyone one. I believe an introduction is at hand, I am Bunnet de Luz, comic-book aficionado and part-time reviewer, and this here is my humble home of comics and other fantastic media, as the tagline may imply.

First I wish this was my original copy which I sadly left in South America, but at last is not. However it’s a great American reprint with hardcover which more than can be said for my flimsily original copy and glossy new pages that are must first any collector.

Story: The famous young reporter Tintin and his dog Milu are asked to interview the remote and mysterious Communist Party of USSR, while he departs to Moscow the Russians are sending their spies to murder him to prevent him from leaking out what truly going on back in the motherland. Soon Tintin find himself involve in web of spies, double crossing and car chases across the land.

Art: While quite weak and hard to at first get through, the pages and style quickly grows on you. One can also appreciate how much the artist change in those few years after the release of this works. But above all else, this action pack comic. I mean you really don’t think about it, but James Bond who respect dearly has less action than Tintin. He goes from being chase by Russian spies, car chases, bomb by planes, boat fights I mean it incredibly fun to image this situations.

action

Dialogue: Very much like all future works from Hergé , to come this one is very Tintin-like, if you don’t understand what I mean, I quickly explain it: If a building is on fire or they find themselves trap behind a rock, Tintin while mention the exact situation they are in simple narrating voice and explains, that hardly possible to escape and then process to escape. And along with that is the fact characters have habit of stating they evil intentions, a bit juvenile and cliche at most but still loads of fun.

Action 3.png

Continues in:The Adventures of Tintin 1: Tintin in the Congo

Conclusion: Re-reading this bring back old memories, once again I wish this was my original copy of Tintin, for it had tremendous sentimental value do to the fact it was one my first comics. I had to repurchase mine, as the original one was lost in South America. Among the thing this comic bring back to me are the memories of waking up early to watch Jacques Cousteau who informed us of the ocean depths, I lived close to a lagoon, listening to Luis Aguilé music before the Prisoner and Doctor Who came on the telly. Ah those where the days and much simpler I may tell you. Sorry lad, I knew was gonna get sentimental.

First I wish this was my original copy which I sadly left in South America, but at last is not. However it’s a great American reprint with hardcover which more than can be said for my flimsily original copy and glossy new pages that are must first any collector.

Alright let get the actual review out the way. Both the writer and the art is mediocre, the action is juvenile but that is to be expected from Tintin, the passing of the story is rapid and the conclusion sort of comes in fast but even with all that, I still love this story.

From a perspective of a fan of Tintin, yes this one his weakest works and one Hergé earliest work, one that clearly he was a shamed as he never reprinted in color. Yet still, I find most the part in this comic fascinating, I mean look at it this way, this was envision as anti-propaganda comic for children, which meet with massive success, that lead to the 24 series of graphic novels, that the Tintin story line. If that don’t spell success don’t know what does. However much like Batman and Superman first appearance, this book is lack luster and forgettable, so why do make this my first review?

Because this was among the first comic I read, along with Judge Dredd, Justice League, Captain Britain and few more. But there another reason this comic, had totally backwards effect on me. It made me curious for the Soviets, for communism and that distant land of Moscow. To me this was and adventure! With trains, spies, double-crossing and best a hero who could deliver a beating and was quite smart.

Well there you have it folks, the first review, with bit emotional parts tide in and if your asking if you should purchase this, only if your into old comics and even then only if you want odd bird in your collection. Till next time.

Four.png

 

Leave a Reply

